Ancients.info - The Online Resource for Ancient Coins & Antiquities  

Go Back   Ancients.info - The Online Resource for Ancient Coins & Antiquities > Coin Talk > Roman
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Sidebar Off

Roman Roman Republican, Imperatorial, and Imperial coinage.

Old Jun 10, 2009, 09:09 PM   #1
jamesicus

View My Photo Gallery
"Invasion coinage" of Constantius

It is sometimes amazing how things work out in coin collecting. I have been seeking nice specimens of this coinage for many years without success. Lo and behold, I came across two at the same time (but from different sources), both with much original silvering! Not only that, they are "twins" in the series: 17a (Constantius) and 17b (Galerius) -- the two Caesars. Talk about a lucky day!

RIC Volume VI (Lugdunum), Group I, (iv), Class I, No. 14-21, c. 296, 10.5-8.75 gm, 28/26 mm
Plain, truncated, obverse busts -- no mint marks
Struck in the names of Diocletian & Maximian as Augusti and Galerius & Constantius as Caesars.

FL VAL CONSTANTIVS NOB C ............................ GENIO POPV -- LI ROMANI
CONSTANTIUS (RIC)
RIC Volume VI, Lugdunum (Lyons), No. 17a

C VAL MAXIMIANVS NOB C ............................ GENIO POPV -- LI ROMANI
GALERIUS (RIC)
RIC Volume VI, Lugdunum (Lyons), No. 17b